Brown Redux

Julie suggested I add a few tweaks to my previous photo. I’m not familar with curves at all. I’m hoping to get a better handle on it this winter when I’m stuck inside more, so I used the auto curves feature. I also added “definition”, which is a localized sharpening and then some global sharpening. I upped the contrast slightly also. I think I like this one better as the light is brighter and more focused. At first I didn’t because the curves changed the background color, but, thank you Julie for showing me something new.

~ by victry1 on November 6, 2010.

9 Responses to “Brown Redux”

  1. Your edits really enhanced more details…nice processing, and great suggestion from Julie!

  2. It is fun to see how edits can improve an already great photo.

  3. The leaves really pop in this one.

  4. I like the addition of the lighting change. Now those leaves seem to glow with color and light. Nice processing!!

  5. I’m glad you gave it a try, Eleanor. I’m not much for over-processing but I do believe all digital images are going to need some work, even if it is just sharpening. And, of course, this is especially true with RAW images. Your choices here definitely gave it the added contrast and detail it lacked out of camera. It seems to come to life now. I wish I knew more about Aperture and how it compares to Lightroom. In LR, you could have brought the blues and greens in the background back down in the HSL panel. It really is a lovely shot….

    • Thanks for the suggestion, Julie. I actually like it so much now that I set it as my desktop. I either have to learn to “see” better when editing or gain more knowledge/experience in editing. I’m not a quick learner, but appreciate suggestions. Even if I don’t like it, I learn something.

  6. That looks really great Eleanor!

  7. I confess I don’t remember the original image, but I like the glowing bronze tone of the leaves.

Leave a Reply

 
