The City at Twilight

I knew I had a couple of “dusk” shots and I found them tonight. These are still from the Circle Line cruise around Manhattan-no editing was done outside of cropping and, of course, straightening. Taking pictures from a rocking boat can be quite the challenge. 🙂 They were both taken with my T1i. The first one was taken with my 70-200mm lens, ISO 1600, focal length 84mm, f5.6, shutter 1/50. The second was taken with my 50mm 1.8, ISO 3200, shutter speed 1/50, f1.8. I think this dusk shooting takes a while. I found out that when you exposure meter is where you want it, the picture isn’t necessarily how you want it. I found that most of the ones where the meter read ok, actually came out too light. Some of them looked like daylight. But, that’s the purpose of this blog-to learn.

~ by victry1 on June 22, 2010.

3 Responses to “The City at Twilight”

  1. I like the 2nd image the best…love that twilight blue! It would be hard to get good clarity on a boat w/ no tri pod and for a hand held this turned out pretty good!

    • Thanks, Tam. I like the brightness in the second also, though the first shows up well when it is full size. No IS either, I miss that.

  2. The second shot sure benefits from the fast lens in regard to the detail it shows. I think that I would like to see the top one cropped into a fake pano and adjusted slightly towards the light side to bring out more detail.

Leave a Reply

 
