One Again

I thought I hadn’t done a post for One and now I see I did. But, since I have a lot of “ones”, guess I’ll do it again. I rented a lens from the place Lee recommended and went out to see the pair of nesting eagles near where I live. Unfortunately, all the really long lengths that were affordable for me weren’t due back for a while, so I rented a 300mm L and paired it with my 1.4 converter. The images are cropped but I will say I’m impressed with the sharpness of the images even with the cropping and distance. With the exception of the photo with the heron and the one with the eagle on a green tree branch, I did no editing outside of cropping. The heron with the fish was hard for me to edit and I’m not sure I’m pleased with the result-perhaps it was hard because of the way the sun was shining on him and the water. But, the other one of him, I felt had a nice late afternoon sun glow.Oh and can’t forget the cormoran!

Despite the fact I should have had a longer lens, I did learn some good lessons. 🙂 Such as, don’t rent a big lens without a tripod! Fortunately, I did make up for that fact by a higher shutter speed (mostly 1/2500) which seemed to work. Also, the L series is worth the money.

If anyone thinks I should have done any other editing-I do see that last eagle shot is a little noisy, please let me know. Thanks!





~ by victry1 on April 13, 2010.

8 Responses to “One Again”

  1. Every one of the “In Flight” shots are stupendous, so when do you go out and buy that lens, thanks for sharing.

  2. That was kind of you, Ron. Well, I won’t be getting one anytime soon. Maybe if I hit the lottery! haha

  3. I am so jealous you can get shots like these in the first place…each and every one of these are fantastic! WOW!

  4. Those are nice shots. I especially like the next to last one!

  5. Nice shots, especially for shooting without a tripod.

    You might want to give the 100 – 400 L IS a try. It is the lens I use for my bird and wildlife photography, and the IS allows for hand holding.

    Good luck and have fun.

    • Hi mevet and thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I had considered that, but it wasn’t available for another week. 😦 The 300 worked out well as I paired it with my converter and got a similar reach. I enjoyed the beautiful shots on your blog also.

Leave a Reply

 
