More Neglect

I found this old abandoned house on the side of the road. It just looked so sad and definitely neglected. I imagine it may have held happy moments for some family at one time. Shot at 34mm, f/10, 1/200, ISO 400 with my 18-55mm lens. Edited in Aperture 3 for brightness, a little sharpness and a slight levels adjustment.

~ by victry1 on April 12, 2010.

9 Responses to “More Neglect”

  1. Something has to be done to preserve that sort of structure, without altering it’s native appeal. Wonderous find.

  2. That’s a really nice find and capture! That house kept a family warm and dry at one time: I wish I could know their story.

  3. I want those walls to talk so that I can hear the laughing children and the smell of home cooking! Fabulous find and so full of character!

    • Thanks Tam! It’s in such a nice location, too. I can imagine the kids running around and playing in the fields or swimming in the lake, too.

  4. These kind of derelicts are one of my favorites to capture. I always wonder what tales they could tell if only they could talk. Makes one a bit melancholy. Nice job and pp.

    • I got nostalgic too. It seems there’s an innocence associated with simpler, less greedy times that is sorely lacking today. Thanks for stopping by and glad to see you. 🙂

  5. Sad, lovely shot. it looks sturdy yet even with those vines all over.

Leave a Reply

 
