Simplicity

My friend and I visited Craftsman Farms, the home of Gustav Stickley. For some unknown reason, it was closed. 😦 So we just walked around and got a couple pictures. The wagon wheel reminds me of simpler times, when you couldn’t go running off in your car to the mall, you took the time to write a letter or pay a visit. (& beofre you ask, NO, I do not remember those days. haha) I did a little editing for brightness as the wheel was in the shadows.

EXIF: Canon T1i, Shutter speed: 1/160, f7.1, ISO 200, 49mm

~ by victry1 on February 21, 2010.

14 Responses to “Simplicity”

  1. Quick save! 🙂 This is really beautiful…I love the contrast of the ground and the snow…very pretty!

  2. I like this – I think the wheel is really beautiful, and harmonizes nicely with the tree behind it, but the photo could be brightened just a touch more so that we could really see the wheel.

    • Hi Jess,

      Thanks for your visit. I brightened the wheel and added it to the post. Though I think I may have brightned it a bit too much. I was trying to keep a little of the shadow in, but it seems like it was all or nothing.

  3. Isn’t it great when thwarted plans turn up something superb like that, I think I prefer that to have plans work out.

  4. Anything from the old days pulls the nostalgic heart-strings. This is a wonderful shot, Eleanor. Heart-strings shouldn’t dredge up a bad memory for me, however, but it does. My leg happened to be in the way when a cultivator started to move (pulled by mules), and I got ran over. Most of you may not know what a cultivator is. It is a piece of farm machinery that has lots of plows attached which can be raised or lowered to till the soil. The wheel was similar to this one, except the rim was all iron without any wood around it. In those days, injuries of this sort never required the notice of a doctor. One just did the best they could. I limped for several weeks afterwards. I still have the indent on my left thigh.

    • Hi Iona,

      Thanks for the visit and your comment! I know what a cultivator is, albeit a tractor pulled one. All kinds of stuff happens on a farm that would appall people living in the city and/or burbs. Glad you healed up okay.

      • Thanks for the reply, Eleanor. A tractor pulled cultivator is not quite as large, nor does it have all the machinery aboard that an animal pulled one does. The operator sat aboard this one, it had all the controls for raising, lowering the plows aboard. The additional mechanics on-board would make the cultivator much heavier than one towed by a tractor, where obviously, the control mechanics would be located. Thankfully, there wasn’t the additional weight of a heavy farm boy, as my little brother was in the seat. I was about 11 years old, which would have made him about 10. Thanks again.

  5. Wonderful image for the theme. Might be a candidate for a sepia treatment.

  6. I love that image. For some reason it makes me imagine that the wagon must be very near, awaiting a new wheel or a repair on that one.

  7. As Iona says….in those days you just had to ‘make do’ when something happens. You did a fine job of finding something to make the day worthwhile. There are many photo-ops that were not planned, and you found one here.

    • Thanks Esther. My friend got a great shot of her reflection as she tried to take a picture through a window. Very unintended but turned out nice. One of my other photos I used for a Be Creative over at the Village.

  8. Lovely photo! Sorry the museum was closed when you arrived. It is is only open on weekends (11:00 to 4:00) in the winter. Open 5 days a week in the warm weather. Hope you’ll come back and take more pictures!

Leave a Reply

 
