Feminine

Well, if anyone knows me, feminine is not the first adjective that would come to mind……LOL. However, on Valentine’s day even the biggest tomboy shows her feminine side. I think roses are a feminine gift. These were sent to me by my son in Chicago. It was a very pleasant surprise! They were shot @ 50mm, shutter 1/125, aperture 2.8. I handheld the camera in a darkened room and put my little Surefire flashlight to work. The red rose had no editing except for the sepia tone, the yellow one I had to darken the highlights and try to recover some of the brightness as it was a tad blown out. I also cropped that one. I shot them in RAW-something I never do. I did that because I got a rocking shot of an eagle on a tree branch, but the sky behind his head was blown out, so his white head got a little lost. Of course, what I’m finding out, is it’s really hard to shoot these guys when they won’t stay in one spot!! haha


~ by victry1 on February 17, 2010.

12 Responses to “Feminine”

  1. Lovely, lovely! The eagle head might have been blown out, but you certainly captured the detail of his feathers. Nice shot. I’ve tried to capture eagles (my first digital camera) and it is very difficult. Got the bird, but none of the detail. Great job, Eleanor.

  2. There’s something about that yellow rose photo that is very compelling. I keep coming back to look at it again.

  3. I love the yellow rose. The composition is great and the processing is wonderful. That is definitely my favorite. Just beautiful.

  4. My favorite is the yellow rose also….WOW, what a beauty! That eagle (even though it is blown out a bit) has great details in his face and feathers), another great capture!

  5. Hi!
    I love your roses. They are all very pretty. I like the eagle too. He has a wonderful look on his face, like he’s looking for dinner and not seeing it. Have a great day!

    Sherrie

  6. Thanks for your comments everybody and your visit. I think the yellow is my favorite too. Thanks for the kind words about the eagle. It was a shame I didn’t really have time to readjust my camera settings. It was so exciting to see him & so close, too!

  7. The yellow rose of Texas does it for me. Cant get enough of your eagle shots.

    • Thanks, Jinxy! Getting the eagle shots is very addicting. Too bad they are going back to Canada by the end of the month. 😦 But, maybe by next year, I’ll be better at taking them or even have a better lens!! (I can dream)

  8. These are gorgeous. I’m going to go out on a limb here and suggest you continue to shoot raw. If you edit your pictures at all I think you will see a huge difference. Jpegs don’t edit well, even in good editing programs, it’s just a fact of life that editing them degrades the image quality. Of course, if you don’t edit then jpegs are better, but I swear by raw! I can really tell the difference in these photos.

    Ok, off my soapbox now. πŸ™‚

    • LOL Jess. Last time I was shooting outdoors, I did take a few shots in RAW, but have not had time to familiarize myself with how to process them. I think shooting RAW would be good if I’m doing BIF cause they move so fast from one type of background to another. My camera settings were fine when I was up the road, but not when I took this guy. 😦

  9. I love the yellow rose too. That look of the eagle is amazing. The only downside I’ve ever heard of shooting in raw is that is a bit slower (more to write to the card maybe?)

Leave a Reply

 
