Awesome White Spots

Yesterday I had the privilege of watching bald eagles in action. Truly an awesome experience. I got a few good shots out of the ones I had taken. But, even if I had gotten none, it was a great experience to watch them in action. The full image on Flickr is not cut off

IMG_4645

~ by victry1 on February 10, 2010.

29 Responses to “Awesome White Spots”

  1. Absolutely Beautiful!

  2. That is awesome. I’d like to know the details….camera? data? post processing? Perfec5t photo.

    • Hi Kay,

      Thanks Kay!! If you click on the image and go to Flickr, click on More properties, it will tell you everything. However, long story short I shot it with my T1i, 55-250mm kit lens @ 171mm. I did a little editing in Aperture for brightness, contrast and a little sharpening. ISO was 1600, shutter was 1/800, aperture 5.6. It’s the best shot I got yesterday. A lot of times they were just too far away for my equipment, but I sure enjoyed watching them.

  3. That’s a wonderfully clear shot! Maybe I’ll take a look at that lens.

    • Hi Jm, Thanks for visiting and for your comment. In good light, it’s a very good lens, especially for the money. The skies were pretty gray when I took that picture. I’m very happy it turned out so well.

  4. What an awesome image!!

  5. REALLY nice shot!

  6. Incredible! It’s so sharp it almost doesn’t look real.

  7. The image above is one of the best Bird photos I habe ever seen, HOWEVER the tip of the wing is cropped off, and that can’t be good use of cropping, can it? I need clarification here as it is worrying me, the flickr shot show the whole bird. No criticism just need to know as I could never do that to the image of such a gorgeous creature.

    • Hi Ron, thanks for the compliment! I didn’t crop the image – it is linked to Flickr and it showed up this way on the blog.

      • Maybe changing the image size in WordPress would make it revert, to a proper crop, It is so good in Flickr and on the blog surfer, where I first saw it and was blown away, wordpress will have to work on the flickr link I think, wish I had been with you, I too may have forgotten to use my camera.

      • Done. Thanks Ron! What I found myself forgetting sometimes was to change my focal length!! duh….

  8. This has to be one of the most clear and detailed eagle in action shots I have ever seen! Incredible capture!! You should be proud of yourself!!!

    • Thanks Tammy! I am incredibly happy to have gotten it and to have seen these beautiful birds in action. I have a few more photos on my personal website-should be in my signature line at the Village. But, this was the best. Considering I took it with a kit lens, I am happy.

  9. Spectacular! All the feathers are here at this time.

  10. What a great shot! Absolutely beautiful!

  11. Eleanor! Afraid I have arrived too late. There isn’t anything else I can add, except to say this is a stupendous photo. Otherwise, it has all been said. 😀

    • Thanks Iona! Glad you came by, Your visits and comments are always appreciated. 🙂 I picked the right day to go see them, too. We got almost 2 foot of snow today……

  12. Wow, this is gorgeous. And tack sharp. Excellent capture!

  13. Also, I must say a word for the kit lens. It’s really pretty darn good, so we must give credit where it’s due – I love that lens, myself. (Doesn’t mean I don’t want to buy a more expensive one, though.) 🙂

    • Yes, I like this lens a lot. It can do very well. Someday I will get a better lens-maybe….depends on my pocketbook. LOL First, to learn more about taking the pictures!!

  14. Just a reminder….drop by this link
    http://2010virtualphotowalk.wordpress.com/2010/02/08/blogging-group-signup/#comments
    to let us know if you want to be in a discussion group for March/April or if you would like to opt out and just post pics. Thanks! 🙂

  15. WOW!! That is absolutely fabulous!!

  16. I’ll just echo all of the above, I hope you have it printed and framed by now. It truly is awesome.

Leave a Reply

 
