Alone

The weather has been so brutally cold and windy, it’s been hard to take a photo in my home for this theme. So, I’m still working from the photos from the other day. Anyway, this guy liked to keep his distance from te rest of the flock. Maybe he found a nice warm spot and wnated to keep it.
EXIF: Exposure: 0.001 sec (1/1000), Aperture: f/10.0, Focal Length:100 mm,
ISO Speed:800, Exposure Bias: 0 EV, Flash:Off, Did not fire

I thought this dead leaf looked pretty lonely on the ice. (Can a leaf be lonely?) Unfortunately, the photo itself is pretty noisy and I was unable to correct it, that & the glare from the ice.

EXIF: Exposure: 0.004 sec (1/250)
Aperture: f/7.1
Focal Length: 250 mm
ISO Speed: 1600

~ by victry1 on February 8, 2010.

12 Responses to “Alone”

  1. In answer to your question from the tree post, I have noticed that most of your pictures look a little fuzzy. But your duck pictures definitely were not, so I think it is the way you are resizing them. Usually I resize my photos to about 800 pixels on the long side, and 540 on the shorter side, but that depends on the aspect ratio. And I use a resolution of 72 ppi. I hope that info helps. Both of these photos also look a bit pixelated to me, although of course it doesn’t help that you are shooting at ISO 1600. I assume you are shooting auto? In such a scenario I would lower my aperture number (let in more light) and then I could use a lower ISO. For example, if you shot this at f/5, then you could use ISO 800, which is less noisy. If you could open up to f/3.5, you could use ISO 400, which is almost noise free. Ye, you might not have as much of the water in focus, but if you’re only going for the leaf that would probably be ok.

    Sorry for such a long comment, but I hope the info is useful.

    • Thanks for your feedback Jessica. I appreciate your taking the time to do so. I do resize them usually at about 800 or 900 by whatever and the ppi is 72. I’m not sure why the pictures are looking fuzzy to you. Perhaps you are used to your nice, sharp images. πŸ™‚ Some of them do not look sharp to me either but I’m not sure I would call them fuzzy. (Well, some of them anyway haha) I believe what happened with the leaf photo is I was experimenting with different settings and ISO’s and trying to learn how to read the histogram and learn how to get the proper exposure. It probably wasn’t a good shot to pic for the blog as I was unable to reduce the noise. A lot of my shots are experimental (for me) and when I get a good one I am happy. I’m still feeling my way around the camera and think I will be the rest of my natural life learning how to use it. LOL

      I will definitely remember to reduce the ISO next time and maybe shoot certain subjects in AV mode. I get so used to trying to photograph moving things (kids, pets, wildlife) that I tend to stay in that shooting mode in my mind.

      Thanks for your feedback. It is valuable to me.

      • I hope you don’t mind me butting in and offering you advice – I just thought the information might be useful!

      • Hi Jess,

        No problem. How else will I learn if someone doesn’t point things out? Though, admittedly, some things I won’t see right away. But, 6 months to a year down the road I’ll be able to see problems more readily. (hope so anyway). I got my DSLR in October so I’m really at the bottom of the totem pole of learning. Lots of trial and error, but fun anyway.

  2. The way that duck is extending one leg is charming. Nice capture! I like the way he’s neatly framed by the bare branches, too.

  3. Both of these make me feel the subject is lonely (and yes, I think a leaf can be lonely)! πŸ™‚ I especially like the duck image and how you captured him going into the shelter of those branches….I agree w/ Jessica’s assessment of the noise in the 2nd image…too high of an ISO.

    • Thanks Tammy-glad I wasn’t the only one to think the leaf looked alone out there. The shot was definitely too noisy-tried to correct it, but it didn’t work. (obviously). I wasn’t going to use that image, but felt the leaf did convey that lonely feeling. I took a few shots of that leaf and a leaf that was frozen in the ice, but was disappointed in the way they turned out. Basically uneditable. But, that’s why I’m glad I’m doing this blog-so I can learn. My goal is to see more, think more and shoot less. Until recently, I just shot a lot and figured odds of getting a good one would be increased that way. LOL Of course, with kids and animals, that burst mode is a godsend!

  4. I like the duck pic a lot — yes, he is “alone,” but certainly, not “lonely.” Look at the cocky walk!

    Re: Leaf pic — idea is good — don’t you hate it when you can’t quite pull it off? But I’m glad you shared it anyway, even if it isn’t perfect.

    • Thanks for stopping by and leaving your comment, Judi. It is appreciated. πŸ™‚ I can only leran from my mistakes, so I don’t think it’s necessarily bad to post a photo that is “wanting”. If I waited for the perfect photos I might end up with nothing to post! LOL

  5. I love the composition and colors of the duck, great image.

Leave a Reply

 
